University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Master of Planning (MPlan) Faculty

MPlan faculty are leaders in practice and research across a wide range of areas -- physical planning, urban design, landscape architecture, community & economic development, ecology, and environmental planning. Our full-time faculty are supplemented by sessional instructors who are grounded in planning practice in the Calgary region.

Associate Dean (Academic – Planning & Landscape Architecture)
Beverly A. Sandalack Professor FCSLA, MCIP, RPP
Specializations: urban design, cultural landscapes, landscape architecture,
neighbourhood and small town planning and design,  sense of place, urban
morphology, walkability, public realm design.
Full-time Faculty


Francisco Alaniz Uribe Assistant Professor MCIP, RPP
urban design, site planning, graphic communication,
urban infrastructure, public realm design.
Enrica Dall'Ara Assistant Professor Specializations: landscape architecture and landscape planning, urban design,
urban renewal, cultural landscapes, industrial landscapes, sense of place,
public space, garden design and outdoor installations.
Kris Fox
Assistant Professor



Paul Galpern Assistant Professor Specializations: landscape ecology, ecological networks, spatial genetics,
global change ecology, ecological modelling, environmental planning,
citizen science, software development.
Harry Harker Planning Practitioner in Residence

Tawab Hlimi Assistant Professor

Noel Keough Assistant Professor Specializations: citizen engagement, participation, social economy,
social justice, sustainability.
Richard M. Levy Professor AIA Assoc., MCIP, RPP
Specializations: urban planning, archaeology, 3D imagining and computer
modelling and simulation, digital design, serious games, virtual reality, GIS.
Sasha Tsenkova Professor MCIP, RPP
cities, climate change, comparative housing policy,
international development, planning sustainable communities,
sustainable cities, urban and regional planning.
Mary-Ellen Tyler Associate Professor Specializations: biosocial system complexity, ecological design,
ecological restoration, environmental management,
environmental planning, environmental policy, sustainability, urban ecology.



Mary Axworthy, MCIP, RPP, Former Director of Planning, City of Calgary. Principal, Urban Planning & Civic Engagement, Axworthy International Consulting Ltd.
Kwangyul Choi,
PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Metropolitan Growth + Change
Albert Han, 
PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Metropolitan Growth + Change
Doug Leighton, RPP MCIP, Vice President, Sustainability, Brookfield Residential
Tim McCulloch, AALA, Landscape Architect, Principal, Carson - McCulloch Associates Ltd.
Eliza Oprescu, BES, MLA, Designer, O2 Planning + Design, AALA Associate
Tomasz Sztuk, Architect, AAA, MRAIC, MArch, Principal, Sztuk Architecture
Evan Weselake, CEC ACC, Get Pure Focus



Benjamin Barrington
Cormack Gates
Gavin McCormack
Rollin Stanley
Doug Carlyle
Byron Miller
Allan Collyer
David Down
J. Miles Scott-Brown
Harry Harher
James Dewald
Mary Axworthy
Kate Thompson
Lynn Webster
Dan Jenkins
Martin Jones
Wendy Ellen Roberts Thorne
Kelly William Sundberg
Tanya Trussler
Alessandro Massolo