University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Dean's Circle

The Faculty of Environmental Design Dean’s Circle is an advisory committee established to assist the Dean, Nancy Pollock-Ellwand in achieving strategic goals for the Faculty by providing community and business expertise, advocating for EVDS in the broader community, and identifying opportunities from an external community perspective. The Dean’s Circle provides guidance on maintaining and enhancing EVDS’ local, provincial, national and international reputation.

Dean's Circle Members

George Brookman is Chair of the Dean's Circle. He is the C.E.O. and principal shareholder of West Canadian Industries Group, one of Canada's leading digital print, scanning and document management companies, which he acquired in 1986. Brookman is also the majority shareholder of Commonwealth Legal and partner in Vistek-West, Alberta's largest independent photography and camera retailer. He is a Director of Penn West Exploration and past Chairman of the Calgary Stampede. In 2010, he received an Honorary Degree in Applied Technology from SAIT.

Joanne Cuthbertson LL.D. is Past Chair of the inaugural Dean’s Circle, Chancellor Emerita of the University of Calgary and Co-chair of U of C’s Scholars’ Academy, which she established upon retirement. She was the first elected Chair of EducationMatters - Calgary’s unique public education trust, founder of SPEAK (Support Public Education - Act for Kids) and recipient of the Calgary Award (Education).  Cuthbertson serves as a Director of Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Director of the Alberta Bone & Joint Health Institute, Fellow of Glenbow Museum, and is a QEII Diamond Jubilee Medal recipient.

Jane Ferrabee is University Architect at the University of Calgary as well as principal at Ferrabee Pendergast Architectural Inc.; an architectural design and consulting firm. She has 27 years of architectural experience and a passion for non-profit, cultural, educational and public buildings. Ferrabee is an Accredited LEED Professional, member of the Alberta Association of Architects, and Fellow at the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada. She holds a Bachelor of Architecture from University of Toronto.

Guy Huntingford is the Co-CEO of CHBA-UDI Calgary Region Association. He was previously the CEO of the Urban Development Institute-Calgary and became the Co-CEO when UDI amalgamated with the Canadian Home Builders’ Association (CHBA) -Calgary Region in March 2016. Huntingford has held positions as Publisher & CEO for the Calgary Sun and associated publications in Southern Alberta, President & CEO of Winsport Canada, where he led the $220M upgrade to the facilities at Canada Olympic Park and Publisher, & CEO for the Calgary Herald. He sits on the board of the Calgary Sport Tourism Authority.

Madeleine King is President at Madeleine King & Associates Ltd., a land use and civic affairs consultancy. King was a Calgary Alderman from 2001-2007, championing Smart Growth. King chaired the City’s arts policy review leading to the formation of Calgary Arts Development (CADA), the public art policy and the prioritization of cultural assets’ spending. She has served on and led various community boards. King holds a Law Degree from London Law College and her Bachelor of Arts from London University.

Naheed Nenshi is the Mayor of Calgary as well as an honorary member of the Dean’s Circle. Nenshi was sworn in as Calgary’s 36th Mayor on October 25, 2010. He is Canada’s first tenured professor in the field of non-profit management at Mount Royal University’s Bissett School of Business. He established the Ascend Group to help public, private, and non-profit organizations grow, and holds a Master in Public Policy from Harvard University as well as his Bachelor of Commerce from University of Calgary.

Stephen Mahler is Partner and Architect at Gibbs Gage Architects, a Calgary-based firm offering services in architecture, interior design and urban design, where he actively guides the direction of the firm and manages individual projects. Having done work in many project sectors, Mahler understands the importance of teamwork and collaboration. His current work focuses on post-secondary institutional, health care and seniors housing projects. Mahler holds a Master in Architecture and Bachelor of Environmental Design from University of Manitoba.

Truper McBride is a senior associate and Planning Discipline Leader with Stantec in Calgary, and also the co-chair of the EVDS Alumni Advisory Council. Prior to joining Stantec, Truper was Mayor of Cochrane and Chair of the Calgary Regional Partnership where focused on charting the growth, development and conservation of the Calgary Region for the next 50 years through the development of a number of plans and policy frameworks. Truper’s leadership, both regionally and locally, has given him unique insights on planning issues facing the Calgary region and has built the strong relationship with key players required to get work done on multi-stakeholder platforms.

John Millington, PMP is Vice President of the Buildings Group for the Southern Alberta Region, Stuart Olson Construction’s largest buildings division. He has considerable expertise in the dynamic commercial construction industry spanning 30 years and in two provinces. Previously working as Senior Capital Projects & Facility Operations Manager at SAIT, Millington organized, led, and delivered their $400 million Trades and Technology Complex as well as $102 million in other works, all of which were awarded “Project of the Year” status for project and construction management excellence. Millington was honoured with the 2007 CRHBA Ralph Scurfield Alberta Builder of the Year Award and awarded top honours (2008) by Alberta WCB for overall highest safety standard $25+ million project.

Raymond Moriyama is one of Canada's most respected architects. He founded Moriyama & Teshima Architects in 1958, and has received numerous professional honours, and honourary degrees from ten Canadian universities. He is a Companion of the Order of Canada, and was awarded the Order of Ontario. He holds a Bachelor of Architecture degree from the University of Toronto and Masters of Architecture degree in Civic and Town Planning from McGill University. Moriyama was chancellor of Brock University from 2001 to 2007.

Eileen Stan, BSC, MSC
Vice President Development

Bio and photo coming soon

Kate Thompson is the Vice President, Projects, for Calgary Municipal Land Corporation (CMLC). Kate leads the Projects Team in delivering the master plan vision for East Village and the Rivers District. Currently, Kate is leading development of the city’s New Central Library, overseeing the project management team while working closely with Calgary Public Library, City of Calgary, project consultants and stakeholders. Kate holds a Bachelor of Environmental Design from the University of Manitoba, and a Master of Architecture from the University of Calgary. Kate is also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Calgary Faculty of Environmental Design.

Ken Toews is Vice President, Development for Strategic Group, a private corporation that has more than a billion dollars in new development projects in the planning and development phases. Ken has been involved in on some of Calgary’s largest apartment, hotel and office mixed - use projects. He worked on the development of Garrison Woods, Currie Barracks and other significant Canadian urban intensification projects. Toews has taught Mixed - Use Development for the last five years and is passionate about urban intensification and high quality architecture and urban design.