University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Block Courses

Gillmor Visiting Lectureship

Fall Block Course, offered in October

The Douglas Gillmor Visiting Lectureship was established to recognize the contributions of Emeritus Professor Douglas Gillmor, the
founding Director of the Architecture Program. The lectureship allows the Program to bring to The University of Calgary, on an annual
basis, an architect or architectural educator to deliver a series of seminars in architectural history and/or theory. The recipient of the
Lectureship will also deliver a public lecture. Students in the Architecture Program are required to take this course at least once, it may be
repeated for elective credit. This course is only available to students in the Architecture Program, and by special permission of the course

Previous recipients of the Gillmor Lectureship are:

2016     Liam Young, Tomorrow's Thoughts Today
2015     Dr. David Gissen, California College of the Arts
2014     Dr. Mary McLeod, Columbia University
2013     Dr. Vittoria De Palma, University of Southern California
2012     Dr. Shelley Hornstein, York University
2011     Dr. Jane Rendell, Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London
2010     Dr. Angela Piccini, Bristol University
2009     Dr. Adrian Parr, University of Cincinnati
2008     Dr. Karen Till, Virginia Tech
2007     Dr. Setha Low, CUNY Graduate School

Somerville Visiting Lectureship

Winter Block Course, offered in January

William Lyon Somerville Visiting Lectureship was established by an endowment given to the University of Calgary by the late Mrs. A.G.
Burton of Calgary in memory of her father. The gift was matched by the University to create a fund for the maintenance of an annual
visiting distinguished lectureship program in Architecture, within the Faculty of Environmental Design.

William Lyon Somerville, ARCA, FRAIC, FRIBA was a distinguished Toronto architect born in Hamilton, Ontario in 1886. He was educated
at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts of America (New York City) and began his career with the New York firm of Dana and Murphy. He had a long,
energetic and successful career based in Toronto, practicing for a substantial period under the well-known firm name Somerville,
McMurrich and Oxley. Mr. Somerville was elected an Associate of the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts, a Fellow of the Royal
Architectural Institute of Canada, and a Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects. He received an honourary Bachelor of Laws
degree from McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario.

The William Lyon Somerville Visiting Lectureship is designed to bring a visiting practitioner, academic or critic to the Architecture
program annually, and that coincidental with the visit, an annual lecture be given by the distinguished guest for the benefit of the
University and the Community it serves, concerning the subject of Architecture. The annual lecture is to be known as the William Lyon
Somerville Lecture, and is to be published alongside some continuing scholarship regarding Mr. Somerville’s work. The program was
inaugurated in February 1992. Recipients in the last 10 years:

2016     Chris Sharples, New York City, USA
2015     Rick Joy, Tuscon, USA
2014     Scott Marble, New York City, USA
2013     Brigette Shim, Toronto, Ontario
2012     Michael Weinstock, London, UK
2011     Adam Caruso, London, UK
2010     Mark Smout, London, UK
2009     Hrvoje Njiric, Zagreb, Croatia
2008     Koen van Velsen, Hilversum, Netherlands
2007     Alison Brooks, London, UK






Taylor Visiting Lectureship

Winter Block Course, offered in February

The Dale Taylor Visiting Lectureship is an intensive one-week workshop course offered to senior students in the Winter term. It is
named to honour Dale Taylor, FRAIC, a past Director of the Architecture Program and Professor Emeritus. Recipients:

2017     Tom Verebes, Hong Kong
2016     Ellie Abrons and Adam Fure, Michigan
2015     Mariana Ibañez & Simon Kim, Cambridge
2014     Joshua Vermillion, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
2013     Alvin Huang, Los Angeles
2012     Nick Puckett, Kentucky
2011     Drura Parrish, Kentucky
2010     Andrew Kudless, San Francisco
2009     Marc Fornes, New York